

Cellular Therapies Section Coordinating Committee

CHAIR: Dr Ronit Slotky, CABP

PURPOSE: The Cellular Therapies Section was established in 2009 to provide guidance to the association and its

membership on critical issues relating to cellular therapies, including umbilical cord blood, regenerative medicine and somatic cells. This section includes information on section charges, proposed guidelines and

subsections.

CHARGES: 1. Link members and resources within the cellular therapy field to connect members engaged in common practices for the purpose of expertise consultation and shortening development timelines.

practices for the purpose of expertise constitution and shortening development timelines.

2. Develop professional educational programs, learning tools and publications for the purpose of recruiting individuals to cellular therapy (including physicians, technologists and related health care providers).

3. Advance the organization's mission and strategic plan relating to umbilical cord blood, regenerative medicine and somatic cells.

- 4. Identify and circulate news regarding emerging and state-of-the-art practices and applications in cellular therapy and regenerative medicine.
- 5. Expand public awareness and education, including Web site offerings.
- 6. Engage cell therapy professionals in interactive exchange to enhance competency.
- 7. Obtain, analyze and disseminate up-to-the-moment summaries of regulatory guidelines and legislation related to cellular therapies.
- 8. Facilitate the application of quality management principles to cellular therapy.
- 9. Provide input to the CT Standards Program Unit regarding standards and assist in expanding the number of AABB-accredited facilities as well as provide recommendations about which novel cellular therapy products should be considered in standards development.

Current Personnel as of January 08, 2025

Name	Roles
Chair	
Dr Ronit Slotky, CABP	
Member	
INDIRA GULERIA, CABP(H)	
Aasawari Bapat, CABP(H),MD,PHD	
Dr. Wanxing Cui, CABP(H),PHD	
Dr Andrew Fesnak	
Maria DLA Muniz, MD	
Arwa Al Riyami	
Dr. Laura S Connelly-Smith	
Vasiliki Kalodimou, CABP(H), MSC, PHD	
Matthew Wilgo, BS,CABP(H)	
Melissa Marlowe	
William Ward, CABP ,MT(ASCP)	



Name	Roles
Yvette Tanhehco, CABP ,MD,MS,PHD	
Mrs. Brenda Alder, CABP ,MS,MT(ASCP)SBB	
Dr. Thomas Spitzer, MD	
SEC	'
Jennifer Chain, CABP ,PHD	
Staff Liaison	
Christina Celluzzi, CABP(H),MS,PHD	
VICE_CHAIR	
Dr. Eapen Jacob	

Time Commitment:

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.