

## **AABB THOR Joint Working Group**

## CHAIR:

**PURPOSE:** 

Identify joint opportunities to advance transfusion medicine clinical practice, support innovation of new products, and further knowledge transfer to reduce the risk of death from hemorrhagic shock due to all

- CHARGES: 1. Develop a prioritized agenda of issues, opportunities, and positions that AABB could pursue as it works in collaboration with the THOR Network. (Possible issues include: range of clinical practice, data collection needs, product development, product use, standards review and advocacy agenda considerations as it relates to transfusion medicine within the civilian and military care settings)
  - 2. Identify data platforms to capture the epidemiology, practice patterns and outcomes for transfused patients.
  - 3. Evaluate the need for uniform titer method and /or options for use of "low titer" blood products.
  - 4. Review existing AABB BBTS standards and identify standards that are of concern and the need for revision. Provide data, if available and recommend that standards be reviewed for possible revision.
  - 5. Develop proposal for position development and/or an advocacy agenda associated with emergency preparedness in conjunction with the THOR Network.
  - 6. Propose Educational Programs for AM, e-casts and a pre AM program.
  - 7. Working with the Regulatory and Policy Departments, liaison with FDA regarding Review/Assessment of licensing criteria used by FDA needed for platelet products when indicated for patients with bleeding and new storage solutions for whole blood.

## **Current Personnel as of January 08, 2025**

| Name                   | Roles |
|------------------------|-------|
| <u>Co-Chair</u>        |       |
| Mark Yazer, MD         |       |
| Philip C. Spinella, MD |       |
| <u>Member</u>          |       |
| Dr. James Stubbs       |       |
| Dr. Andrew Peter Cap   |       |
| Dr Steven Sloan        |       |
| Dr Paul Ness           |       |
| Kevin Ward, MD         |       |
| Donald H. Jenkins, MD  |       |
| Prof. Eilat Shinar     |       |
| Dr. Torunn Apelseth    |       |
| Dr Nancy Dunbar        |       |
| Jeremy Cannon          |       |
| Staff Liaison          |       |
| Sharon Carayiannis     |       |



**Time Commitment:**