

## **Clinical Transfusion Medicine Committee**

CHAIR: Ryan Metcalf, MD

**PURPOSE:** To develop and maintain AABB's role as a leader in establishing and maintaining the highest level of

patient safety, care and support in transfusion therapies. To provide consultations as needed on all facets of issues concerning the overall safety, appropriate management and clinical effectiveness of transfusion

therapies administered to patients.

CHARGES: 1. Recommend new or updating existing clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) for Board consideration.

- 2. Prioritize non-infectious risks of transfusion as identified through Biovigilance Network and other data sources. Report to the Board annually. Coordinate prioritizing infectious vs. non-infectious risks of transfusion in conjunction with Transfusion Transmitted Diseases Committee.
- 3. Maintain the system for committee members to review on an annual basis critical developments in the fields of transfusion alternatives, patient blood management, pediatric hemotherapy, therapeutic apheresis, extracorporeal therapy, age of blood and other related fields of transfusion medicine; prepare an annual summary (due for the July board meeting) including summaries and/or abstracts of these articles/developments that is prioritized for the board's attention.
- 4. Identify to the TMSCC topics for technical guidance documents; participate in or lead the development of these documents as requested by the TMSCC.
- 5. Evaluate the impact of pathogen inactivation technology focusing on the operational aspects of implementation including options and challenges.

## **Current Personnel as of January 08, 2025**

Name	Roles
Chair	
Ryan Metcalf, MD	
CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER	
Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD	
Consultant	
Jonathan Waters, MD	
Prof. Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPATH, FFPATH	
Junior Committee Member	
Mischa Covington, MD,PHD	
Liaison	
Jessica Jacobson, MD	TTD Liaison
Kerry O'Brien, MD	TMSCC Liaison
Jacqueline Poston, MD	COI Task Force Liaison
Nabiha Huq Saifee, MD,PHD	AABB Rep. to TAXI Bloodnet/Pediatric Critical Care Guidelines Liaison
Member	
Eric Salazar, MD,PHD	
Dr Nicole Zantek, MD,PHD	



Name	Roles
Jenna Khan, MD	
Dr Alyssa Ziman, MD	
Aaron Hess, MD,PHD	
Ruchika Goel, CABP ,MD,MPH	
Tina Ipe, MD,MPH	
Dr. Jennifer C Andrews, MD,MSC	
Dr. Moritz Stolla, MD	
Anil Panigrahi, MD,PHD	
Elizabeth Crowe, MD,PHD	
Stella T. Chou, MD	
Monica B. Pagano, MD	
Dr. Cyril Jacquot, MD, PHD	
Representative	
Carlos Villa	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Sharon Carayiannis	

**Time Commitment:** To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.